Our Directors

  • Gary Brant – Treasurer

    Gary Brant – Treasurer

    Gary worked for the HSBC Group for 35 years before retiring in 2013. During his career he worked in International Trade Finance and the Global Markets Divisions of the Bank. He is experienced in Sales, Sales Management and held a Senior Management leadership role. He now works as part of a consultancy group working with businesses in the UK to ensure their Banking costs are appropriate, fair and equitable.

    Gary joined Swan as a volunteer early in 2016. He is based in Milton Keynes, is an active member of Milton Keynes Community Bank and is passionate about developing the awareness of the critical role Credit Unions can and should play in helping those in society who most need financial support.

    After undertaking project work on behalf of the Board he was appointed to the role of Treasurer in September 2016.

  • Philip Bruce

    Philip Bruce

    Philip worked in a senior leadership role for Lloyds Bank before retiring in 2017 after 35 years with the organisation.

    During a long and varied career he worked in a number of areas including relationship management, sales management, credit management, business management and finally in change management dealing with business and operating model change and delivery.

    Philip joined the Swan Board in 2017 and has undertaken work looking at the launch of new products, business growth opportunities as well as acting as Credit Committee for lending decisions.

    He is also a Director and a Trustee of Bucks MIND with a focus on Finance, Risk and development of new income streams.

  • Theresa Chambers - Secretary

    Theresa Chambers – Secretary

    Theresa is our most recent addition to the board, joining us in April 2018. She has worked in the public sector for over twenty years, and brings to the board a deep commitment to improving opportunities for the most vulnerable in our society. Theresa has a wealth of experience in public policy development and analysis, having led large analytical units supporting decision making and operational improvement for many years, most recently in the Home Office and the Department for Work and Pensions.

  • Steve Eyre – Chair

    Steve Eyre – Chair

    Steve retired several years ago from a career in Sales and Sales Management and is now an executive trustee of three charities. Since joining Swan Director Phil Stratton in founding Sharing Life Trust in 2003, he has been a passionate and active advocate for those in our communities who are marginalised and often invisible. Sharing Life Trust provides practical support services, including a Foodbank, has formed strong local networks in Thame, and was a key element in the merger of Milton Keynes and Aylesbury Credit Unions, to form Swan. Steve has served on the Supervisory Committee. He joined the Board in 2015.

  • Charlie Robertson

    Charlie Robertson

    As a Didcot Town Councillor, Charlie is responsible for decisions that impact the community.  He brings to the board 10 years of experience in the financial services industry, ranging from consumer-lending, sales and marketing to client-advice and project governance.  Having completed his Executive MBA at Henley Business school, Charlie uses his business acumen to help the board plan its strategic direction and implement long-term sustainable offerings that best serve community interests.

  • Phil Stratton

    Phil Stratton

    Phil joined the Board early in 2013 following his involvement as a Board Member of Aylesbury Credit Union. Together with Steve Eyre, he helped champion the merger between Aylesbury and Milton Keynes Credit Unions, to form Swan Credit Union. He now heads Swan’s interests in South East Oxfordshire and was involved in organising the launch of Thame Community Bank in October 2013 and Didcot Community Bank in September 2015. He runs an IT Business in Aylesbury, and is a trustee of two other charities involved in the relief of hardship and poverty, providing support to people both in the UK and overseas.

  • Philip Turnbull – Company Secretary

    Philip Turnbull – Company Secretary

    Philip is the only remaining founding member of the Credit Union on the Board. He has been Treasurer in 2006, 2013, and 2014; Chair of the Board from 2007 through 2013; and has now taken over as Company Secretary. He is responsible for grant funding and for regulatory compliance. Until retirement in 2014, Philip was an international consultant in official statistics, with a particular focus on supporting statistical capacity building in developing countries. He remains an active member of the Royal Statistical Society. Philip is the Director for Swan’s Milton Keynes community Bank.

Swan Community Bank is a trading name of Swan Credit Union which is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA) and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.

Swan Credit Union Ltd. Our registered address is Foundation House, Aylesbury St, Wolverton, Milton Keynes, MK12 5HX. (Company no. 417717).